Records show that Cannon Memorial YMCA has provided excellent camping opportunities for youth throughout Cabarrus County since 1912. However the emphasis on the summer camping experience began in earnest in 1933 as orchestrated by J. T. Fesperman, Executive Director of the YMCA. Fesperman introduced the youth of Kannapolis to Camp Elliott during the summer of 1933 and it served young people until the late 1970's.
Camp Elliott was built in 1925 by the Interstate YMCA committee for campers from all over the Southeast. Campers attended for six or seven weeks each summer. In 1933, Fesperman arranged for Cannon Memorial YMCA to use Camp Elliott for two or three weeks each summer. The camp day started with reveille, morning dip, flag raising, breakfast, cabin cleanup, cabin inspection, crafts, lunch, rest period (used by many to write cards to Mom). Afternoons were for hiking, swimming, fishing, rowing, followed by supper, sports and always a fine program at the Council Ring. The day ended with a devotional, sentence prayers and then to bed as the bugler played taps.
Camp Elliott was located roughly thirteen miles from Old Fort, NC. The campus consisted of a mess hall with seating for 140 people, kitchen and store room, a very large lodge used for rainy day activities, a beautiful lake (the camp centerpiece) and six cabins. Each cabin slept 18 campers. In addition, there was a rifle range, putt-putt golf course, baseball field and an archery range. Under the lodge were rooms for crafts and a camp store. The entire camp was nestled on 50 acres.
In 1959, the Cannon Mills Company bought the camp from the Interstate YMCA for the use of our local YMCA community. The camping program consisted of Boys Camp, Girls Camp, Indian Guide Camp and Family Camp.